Harley Announces Android Auto Support

Touring models with Boom! Box GTS will now be compatible via an update.

Harley has announced it will soon offer Android Auto support on its CVO, Trike, and Touring models equipped with Boom! Box GTS infotainment systems.Harley-Davidson

Apple CarPlay and Android Auto have been available on a good number of newer-model automobile setups for years now, but smartphone system compatibility and integration has been pretty slow on the motorcycle side, especially for Android. For reference, the Honda Gold Wing was the world’s first motorcycle with Apple CarPlay integration, back in 2018, and Harley’s looking to become the first for Android, via a recent collaboration with Google (Boom! already supports Apple CarPlay but requires an auxiliary headset).

The Motor Company recently announced that Android Auto will be supported on all its Touring models equipped with the Boom! Box GTS infotainment system (Boom! has been compatible with Harley’s app for Android for a while). That makes Harley the first motorcycle manufacturer to have Android Auto compatibility with its proprietary on-board infotainment system, and going forward, the motorcycle manufacturer says all appropriately equipped Touring, CVO, and Trike models will feature the smartphone mirroring tech. But it will require a wired connection.

Owners of current Boom! Box GTS Systems can upgrade via an Android Auto software update Harley will make available in early summer 2020, while future 2021 and up H-D Touring, CVO, and Trike models will have Android Auto as a standard function (provided they’re equipped with the Boom! Box GTS system).

So if you’ve got Android, you can breathe a bit easier knowing you can now access your favorite non-Apple apps (Google Maps, anyone?) through the Boom! Box GTS and a wired connection to a compatible smartphone. Google Assistant is also available on Android Auto, so riders can initiate actions by voice. Android Auto is available in 36 countries; Google Assistant on Android Auto is currently available in Australia, Canada (English), France, Germany, India (English), South Korea, United Kingdom, and United States.